12:51 AM

AAP Applauds Senate Judiciary Committee for Passing Copyright Small Claims Legislation

Washington, DC; July 18, 2019 – The Association of American Publishers (AAP) applauds the Senate Judiciary Committee for passing S. 1273, the Copyright Alternative in Small-Claims Enforcement Act of 2019 (CASE Act), by voice vote this morning.

“The CASE Act provides a voluntary, affordable, and sorely-needed avenue of dispute resolution for small-claims copyright cases, administered by a government agency that is uniquely qualified to interpret copyright issues,” said Maria A. Pallante, President and CEO of AAP. “We thank the Senate Judiciary Committee members for their leadership in moving this important legislation forward today.”

AAP especially commends the bill’s four original co-sponsors—Senators John Kennedy (R-LA), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Dick Durbin (D-IL), and Mazie Hirono (D-HI)—for their leadership in introducing the bill, and also thanks the bill’s additional co-sponsors—Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tom Udall (D-NM), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Chris Coons (D-DE), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), John Cornyn (R-TX), Richard Blumenthal (D-CA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), and Martin Heinrich (D-NM)—for their support of this critically important legislation.

AAP looks forward to continuing to work closely with Congress to ensure the bill’s passage in both the Senate and House of Representatives.