10:21 PM

Alan Turing: His Work and Impact Named R.R. Hawkins Award Winner in 2013 PROSE Awards

For the first time in its history, the Hawkins prize authors will receive a cash award of $10,000

Washington, DC; February 6, 2014 — Alan Turing: His Work and Impact, initiated and published by Elsevier and edited by S. Barry Cooper and Jan van Leeuwen, was selected for the R.R. Hawkins Award, the top honor at the 38th annual PROSE Awards, #PROSEAwards, announced today.

This year, for the first time in its history, the Hawkins prize authors will receive a cash award of $10,000 endowed by the Association of American Publishers’ Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division (AAP/PSP).

The PROSE Awards, considered the most prestigious competition in professional and scholarly publishing, were presented at the PSP Annual Conference today in Washington DC. For the sixth year in a row, the PROSE program attracted a record-breaking number of submissions: 535 entries of books, reference works, journals and electronic products in more than 40 categories. This marks the first year that a Trade sector publisher won an Award for Excellence with HarperCollins Publishers selected for the Humanities discipline honor for Kansas City Lightning: The Rise and Times of Charlie Parker by Stanley Crouch, with Calvert Morgan as Acquisition Editor.

Entries were submitted from publishers in the PSP, Trade and Education sectors. The 14 judges included peer publishers, librarians and academics.

More than 230 professionals in scholarly publishing worldwide attended the Awards Luncheon which was live-streamed. In addition to the awards presentations, the documentary “A Holy Curiosity: The Mind of a Scientist Author” made its premiere. The film profiles 2011 R.R. Hawkins winning book The Diffusion Handbook: Applied Solutions for Engineers (McGraw-Hill) and its author Michael Thambynayagam.

Celebrating the centenary of his birth, Alan Turing: His Work and Impactwas praised as a fitting tribute to the life of the legendary mathematical and scientific genius, considered to be the father of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence. S. Barry Cooper, of University of Leeds, UK, and Jan van Leeuwen, of Utrecht University, the Netherlands, were the editors. More information

“This remarkable volume contains a selection of more than two dozen of Turing’s most important writings, lectures and broadcasts from 1936 to 1954 and extensive commentaries from researchers and practitioners whose intellectual and personal lives Turing’s persona and work have influenced profoundly,” explained Myer Kutz, Myer Kutz Associates, and Mathematics Judge for PROSE. “The breadth of Turing’s interests is astonishing. The products of this unique mind are made accessible to both specialists and general readers by this touching and learned book — a fitting recipient of 2013 R.R. Hawkins Award.”

Today’s event also recognized the recipients of the Awards for Excellence in the five PROSE disciplines — Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Mathematics, Biological and Life Sciences, Humanities and Reference Works — from which the Hawkins winner is selected.

“The PROSE program received extraordinary entries this year, both in quantity and quality, and the winning entries in our categories are truly outstanding scholarly works,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, President and Publisher Emeritus of CQ Press. “We are also delighted that the PSP Division of AAP chose to introduce a cash award this year to the authors of the Hawkins honor. This gesture recognizes the calibre of work accomplished by the authors while acknowledging the role that the PROSE Awards holds in the scholarly publishing community.”

Award for Excellence in Humanities
HarperCollins Publishers
Kansas City Lightning: The Rise and Times of Charlie Parker
By Stanley Crouch; Acquisition Editor was Calvert Morgan

Award for Excellence in Social Sciences
Cambridge University Press
The Body in History: Europe from the Paleolithic to the Future
Edited by John Robb and Oliver J.T. Harris; Acquisition Editor was Beatrice Rehl

Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences and Mathematics
Alan Turing: His Work and Impact
Edited by S. Barry Cooper and Jan van Leeuwen; Acquisition Editor was Paula Callaghan and Editorial Project Manager was Danielle Miller

Award for Excellence in Biological and Life Sciences
The MIT Press
The Neural Basis of Free Will: Criteria Causation
By Peter Ulric Tse; Executive Editor was Robert Prior

Award for Excellence in Reference Works
Elsevier/Academic Press
Epigenetic Regulation in the Nervous System: Basic Mechanisms and Clinical Impact
Edited by J. David Sweatt, Michael J. Meaney, Eric J. Nestler, and Schahram Akbarian; Acquisition Editor was Mica Haley and Development Editor was Kristi Anderson

Follow additional PROSE news through @PROSEAwards and #PROSEAwards. The complete list of awardees Additional information about the 2013 PROSE Awards


The Association of American Publishers (AAP) represents about four hundred member organizations including major commercial, digital learning and education and professional publishers alongside independents, non-profits, university presses and scholarly societies. We represent the industry’s priorities on policy, legislative and regulatory issues regionally, nationally and worldwide. These include the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement, digital and new technology issues, funding for education and libraries, tax and trade, censorship and literacy. Find us online at www.publishers.org or on twitter at @AmericanPublish.