04:43 PM

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Receives Top Honor for 2015 PROSE Awards

Annual PROSE Awards honor the greatest works in professional and scholarly publishing

Washington, DC; February 5, 2015 - The winners of the prestigious 39th annual PROSE Awards (#PROSEAwards) were announced today during the annual Professional and Scholarly Publishing (PSP) Conference in Washington, DC. The highest honor, the R.R. Hawkins Award and a $10,000 prize for the author, went to The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press for Capital in the Twenty-First Century by Thomas Piketty.

The PROSE Awards are organized by the PSP Division of the Association of American Publishers (AAP) to honor noteworthy and original contributions to the professional and scholarly publishing world each year. For the seventh year in a row, the PROSE program attracted a record-breaking number of submissions: 540 entries of books, reference works, journals and electronic products in more than 50 categories.

Covering the arts, humanities, sciences, and math in book, journal and electronic form, the PROSE Awards are a recognition of excellence in each field. Winners were chosen by an independent, 14-person panel of peer publishers, librarians and academics. More than 200 attended the Awards Ceremony, which was live-streamed and live-tweeted from @PROSEAwards.

“Thomas Piketty's magisterial new book, Capital in the Twenty-First Century is an economics book, a history book, a political science book, and a sociology book all rolled into one delightful package: an exciting and well-written look at income and wealth distribution,” said George Lobell, Economics Judge for the PROSE Awards. “This 685 page tome surveys the leading industrial economies over the last nearly 200 years with regard to how great wealth impacts economic incentives and economic growth. That it has sold more than half a million copies in its English edition is a testament to its great importance and the timeliness of its theme.”

The R.R. Hawkins is an esteemed award that recognizes the most exceptional professional, reference or scholarly work among the year’s Award for Excellence winners. Capital in the Twenty-First Century also won the Award for Excellence in Social Sciences and the Economics subject category.

“The PROSE Awards honor the greatest works in professional and scholarly publishing. These are the books and journals that change how we understand the world around us and benefit our society through the sharing of knowledge. Choosing a winner was difficult, as this year’s entries were some of the most remarkable that we seen yet for educational and academic works,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, President and Publisher Emeritus of CQ Press, and Founder and CEO of Law Street Media.

Since 1976 the PSP Division of AAP has celebrated distinguished works in professional and scholarly publishing through the PROSE Awards. This year, five new award categories were established to recognize achievements in humanities, social sciences, physical sciences/mathematics, and biological/life science textbooks as well as a new outstanding scholarly work by a trade publisher category.

The PROSE Award Winners:

Each of the five “best of” awards were chosen from 54 book, reference, journal and eProduct categories. The R.R. Hawkins Award is awarded to the best work among that group.


R.R. Hawkins Award

The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press
Capital in the Twenty-First Century
By Thomas Piketty, and translated by Arthur Goldhammer

Award For Excellence in Humanities

Cambridge University Press
The Material Life of Roman Slaves
By Sandra R. Joshel and Lauren Hackworth Petersen

Award for Excellence in Social Sciences

The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press
Capital in the Twenty-First Century
By Thomas PikettyTranslated by Arthur Goldhammer

Award for Excellence in Biological and Life Sciences

John Wiley and Sons
Ultrastructure Atlas of Human Tissue
By Fred E. Hosslers

Award for Excellence in Physical Science and Mathematics

Cambridge University Press
Atlas of Meteorites
By Monica Grady, Giovanni Pratesi and Vanni Moggi Cecchi

Award for Excellence in Reference Works:

Cambridge University Press
History of the First World War
Edited by Jay Winter

In all, more than 60 awards were given. For a full list of the PROSE Award winners, visit www.proseawards.com.


The Association of American Publishers (AAP) represents about four hundred member organizations including major commercial, digital learning and education and professional publishers alongside independents, non-profits, university presses and scholarly societies. We represent the industry’s priorities on policy, legislative and regulatory issues regionally, nationally and worldwide. These include the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement, digital and new technology issues, funding for education and libraries, tax and trade, censorship and literacy. Find us online at www.publishers.org or on twitter at @AmericanPublish.