04:19 PM

PROSE Awards Entry Period Open for Nominations of Outstanding Scholarly Books, Journals and Electronic Products

Entry deadline is Monday, October 31, 2016.

Washington, DC; September 13, 2016 – The 2017 American Publishers Awards for Professional and Scholarly Excellence Awards (PROSE) is accepting entries for outstanding scholarly material through Oct. 31. Presented by the Association of American Publishers (AAP) Professional and Scholarly Publishing (PSP) Division, the awards recognize works of great merit that add groundbreaking knowledge to the arts, humanities and sciences. The R.R. Hawkins Award, the highest honor in professional and scholarly publishing, will be presented to the most outstanding work among the year’s entries.

Fifty-nine awards are available for scholarly and professional books, reference works, journals and digital content. Since 1976 when the PROSE Awards were established, there have been 15,085 submissions entered, 1,778 winners acknowledged and 1,060 awards given.

“The PROSE Awards recognizes intelligent and profound research that opens up readers to new observations and transforms the landscape with contemporary insights,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, President and Publisher Emeritus of CQ Press and founder of Law Street Media. “We look forward to receiving this year’s submissions, representing the best in professional and scholarly publishing.”

Awards by the numbers in 2017

  • Five “best of” awards chosen from 53 book, reference, journal and e-product categories;
  • Forty-five book subject categories for traditional print, electronic publications and print/electronic packages; and
  • Six awards for electronic products, including electronic platforms and e-products with multiple components.

Winners will be honored at the PROSE Awards luncheon ceremony, held during the PSP Annual Conference, on Feb. 2 in Washington, DC. This year’s luncheon will feature the screening of an original documentary film on the 2016 Hawkins winner, Aldon D. Morris, author of The Scholar Denied: W.E.B. Du Bois and the Birth of Modern Sociology.

More information on the PROSE Awards can be found at www.proseawards.com, as well as through Cenveo Publisher Services’ free interactive digital publication iPROSE: 40 Years of Excellence in Scholarly Publishing, downloadable via the Cenveo Mobile App, and the @PROSEAwards Twitter account.

Publishers who are members of AAP or the Association of American University Presses (AAUP) are encouraged to submit their most exceptional works. There is no maximum limit to submissions per publisher in any category. Complete entry information can be found here.

Media Contact

Allyson Garner / agarner@publishers.org / {202} 220-4540


About the Association of American Publishers:

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) is the largest U.S. trade association for the consumer, educational, professional and scholarly publishing industry. Its more than 400 member organizations include U.S.-based multinational corporations, independent publishers, university presses, nonprofit publishers, professional and scholarly societies and industry service providers. As the voice of American publishers, AAP is dedicated to representing American publishing priorities worldwide and advancing the role of publishers in contemporary society. Our work focuses on the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement; digital and new technology issues; funding for education and libraries; tax and trade; and censorship and literacy. Find us online at www.publishers.org or on Twitter at @AmericanPublish.