08:04 PM

PROSE Awards Now Accepting Entries

Five New Categories in 2015

New York, NY; Sept. 24, 2014 — Entries are now being accepted through October 31 for the 2015 PROSE Awards. The PROSE Awards, now in its 39th year, is a celebration of publishing that recognizes outstanding and innovative scholarly contributions to the arts, humanities, sciences, and math. The prestigious awards are produced by the Association of American Publishers, Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division.

Following last year’s record-breaking number of categories and submissions, the 2015 event includes a number of new elements. Among them, five new award categories to recognize achievements in humanities, social sciences, physical sciences/mathematics, and biological/life science textbooks as well as a new outstanding scholarly work by a trade publisher category.

The awards will be presented on February 5, 2015 at the annual AAP PSP conference in Washington, DC.

Covering topics from Art History to Popular Science, the PROSE Awards accept submissions in about 50 categories for books, reference works, journals and electronic products. For the second year, a $10,000 cash prize will be given for the top honor, the R.R. Hawkins Award.

Submissions are judged by an independent, 14-person panel of peer publishers, librarians and academics. They are evaluated based on depth of scholarship, contribution to the field of study, significance of the work and excellence in both content and design.

“With the addition of five new categories this year, we are better able to acknowledge contributions from publishers -- particularly our trade publishers that are making great strides in fields of scholarship like biography and history. Publishers provide us the tools to reach into the minds of authors and learn more about our world, and we are pleased to recognize their greatest accomplishments again this year,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, President and Publisher Emeritus of CQ Press.

The ceremony will be live-streamed and live-tweeted on @PROSEAwards. It will also feature the debut of a multimedia presentation recognizing the diversity of the professional and scholarly publishing community.

Publishers who are members of AAP or Association of American University Presses (AAUP) are encouraged to submit outstanding works that inspire, transform and educate. There is no maximum limit to submissions per publisher in any category. Complete entry information is on the PROSE Awards website.

Awards by the Numbers

  • 60 available prizes
  • 46 book subject categories
  • 5 “best of” awards chosen from 54 book, reference, journal and eProduct categories

Quick Facts

  • The prestigious competition last year attracted 535 submissions, marking the sixth consecutive record-breaking year
  • The PROSE Awards have been presented since 1976 and are judged by an independent committee of peer publishers, librarians, and academics
  • Last year’s R.R. Hawking Award was presented to Elsevier Science for Alan Turing: His Work and Impact. For a full list of winners click here

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) represents about four hundred member organizations including major commercial, digital learning and education and professional publishers alongside independents, non-profits, university presses and scholarly societies. We represent the industry’s priorities on policy, legislative and regulatory issues regionally, nationally and worldwide. These include the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement, digital and new technology issues, funding for education and libraries, tax and trade, censorship and literacy. Find us online at www.publishers.org or on twitter at @AmericanPublish.