11:00 PM

Record Participation in AAP Adopt-a-School 2013

What happens when you combine 45 of the most popular authors of children’s and young adult books, 14 premier publishing houses and 41 elementary, middle and high schools across New York’s five boroughs?

You get the Association of American Publishers’ biggest Adopt-a-School Week ever in the program’s eight-year history.

Adopt-a-School 2013 runs December 9-13, connecting authors and the next generation of readers in the initiative to encourage literacy and love of reading. At this year’s schools, located in all five boroughs, authors will do readings, answer questions and lead discussions in classroom, library and auditorium settings.

“The Adopt-a-School project is one of our Association’s favorite annual traditions and we’re delighted that 2013 will mark a record number of participating authors and schools,” said Tina Jordan, Vice President, AAP. “New York is a special place to the US book publishing industry and we welcome the opportunity to give back, with such terrific response.”

The annual event is a collaboration between AAP, the leading trade association of the US publishing industry; the New York City Department of Education; the Children’s Book Council; and the schools’ librarians.

Participating authors include:

Steve Metzger
Betsy Bird
Jacqueline Preiss Weitzman
Robie Harris
Dan Yaccarino
Dan Poblacki
Melissa Guion
Nina Crews
Selina Alko
Barbara Samuel
Brian Floca
Sheila Keenan
Mrs. P
Chris Ruschka
Nancy Krulik
Beth Ain
Francine Poppo Rich
Bridget Starr Taylor
Daniel Rubin
Adam Salmieri
Jason Edwards
Emmy Laybourne
Greg Takoudes
Laura Schroff
Jason Reynolds
Zoraida Cordova
Amy Herrick
Geoff Rodkey
Barnabus Miller
Polly Shulman
L.A. Campbell

Participating publishing houses include:

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group
Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
Penguin Young Readers Group
Algonquin Young Readers
Soho Teen

Mrs. P
HarperCollins Children’s Books
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Rogue Bear Press
Blue Marlin